1 Second Every Day: My First 2 Months in South Korea

June 24th is exactly 2 months since I arrived in South Korea to teach English. I’ve been recording my time here using 1 second snippets every day, with the help of a handy app (1 Second Everyday) which removes the hassle of having to mash them all together.

Some days there are too many seconds to choose from, and other days I realise it’s 11:30 pm and I’ve completely forgotten. But here’s the final cut.

Some shots are for visual entertainment, whereas others are auditory, so turn up the volume and be prepared to be overwhelmed and a bit confused.

Featuring:

My aunt harassing a pony.
A giant wasp.
Christmas WHAM songs playing in May.
A Korean taking an evening stroll backwards.
Buying a bike.
Falling off my bike.
MERS.
School lunch.
Dancing fast and slow.
Buddha’s birthday parade.
PSY concert.
Singing Savage Garden at 6 am.
Teaching ‘We’re Going on a Bear Hunt’.
Towering over small children.
Sunsets in Seoul.
Cat cafes.
Crocheting.
Feeding my pet rabbit.
Giving away my pet rabbit.
Lots of food.
Lots of small children.

It’s probably slightly annoying for my friends here as capturing ‘my second’ has become a bit of an obsession, but now I’ve come this far I’m not sure I can stop. So let’s call this Episode 1.

7 thoughts on “1 Second Every Day: My First 2 Months in South Korea

  1. Alice says:

    I just went and bought this app straight away. Totally up my alley… so excited to try this myself! What an awesome way to chronicle your life. Looks like you’ve been having a lot of fun ^^

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lal says:

      Haha Alice you realise this is probably another fad for us haha.. But I’m enjoying it while I can. Sadly it’s probably the highlight of my day thinking about what to film. Be warned!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Alice says:

        Very likely! This is exactly the kind of thing I will get obsessed with, and then at some point abandon completely :p But it fits in with my plan to get more out of life and will force me to consider my days a bit more, so I’m all for it while it lasts haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment